### **IASCOE DIRECTORS MINUTES**

Marriott at Jordan Creek
West Des Moines
March 25, 2010
7:00 pm

Officers Present: President, Cindy Mensen: Vice President, Jeff Davis and Secretary/Treasurer Sue Beemer was absent. Directors Present: Glenda VonArb, Cindy Pistek, Tammy Pruin, Tammy Eibey, John Landgraf, Mary Lageschulte, Steve Kennedy, Chris Grieder, Devalyn Wilson, Joni Birkhofer Alt., Chris Irvin, Judy Lundgren Alt., Patsy Bence, Kelly Cain, Judy Dameron, and Dee Ann Lehn and New oncoming directors, Karen LaCour and Cindy Bebout.

President Cindy Mensen called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm. Roll Call was taken as all introduced themselves.

### SECRETARY REPORT

Minutes were silently read by all from the February Director's meeting. With no correction to the minutes, Glenda Von Arb moved to approve and Judy Dameron seconded the motion to accept the minutes as written. The motion carried by all directors present.

### **FINANCIAL REPORT**

The financial report was given to the Director's for their review. Mary Lageschulte moved and Judy Dameron seconded the financial report be accepted. Motion carried by all directors. We discussed the sale of the cookbooks and the last of the money coming in. There are NO cookbooks left and we are officially done! Approximately \$6800.00 to \$6900.00 profit!

Cindy gave a Special Thank you and gift to the outgoing directors, Chris Irvin and Glenda Von Arb. She then welcomed the new directors coming on. Tomorrow at 9:30 the Directors will be meeting again for election of officers and a photo in Salon B.

### Committee Reports

### **EMBLEMS**

Chris Grieder asked for any and all suggestions on packets for the convention. Not much to choose from and hard to come up with ideas. It was also discussed on the clothing and shirt sizes. Seems sizes are SO different.

#### **PROGRAMS**

Alternate Joni Birkhofer had a report from Jessica Yuska. Jessica has challenged all directors to submit a change in programs or give a recommendation of new items to be used.

# **SCHOLARSHIPS/AWARDS**

Tammy Pruin reported we had 4 winners this year and all 4 and their parents will be attending the breakfast on Saturday morning. We will be presenting Sick Leave awards and Extra Mile certificate beginning at 8:30 Saturday morning.

### **PUBLICITY**

Cindy Pistek reported that several submissions for awards were submitted and several awards had been received. Those being Best single issue – September; Best humor interest story; Best feature – Humorous; and Best overall newsletter! Tammy Eibey mentioned awards have been chosen at the National level and will be announced later, hopefully the 1<sup>st</sup> week in April.

### **MEMBERSHIP**

Glenda Von Arb reported that our percentage of membership is holding its own. Not much of a change. We will have 4 counties receiving awards for consecutive memberships. Decatur, Jackson, Johnson, and Fremont. We have 13 Honoree lifetime members. Some concern as to why we cannot keep up our membership. Some due to increased dues AND because we are not getting our grade eight position??

#### **BENEFITS**

Dee Ann Lehn reported a new notice should be coming soon on a new PT position. Not sure of any particulars. Don't forget our SAM's Discount, US Cellular has just joined in giving a 15% discount; JM Marketing now has a new accident death policy and dismemberment policy. It was reported that JM Marketing Dental policy is GREAT!

### **LEGISLATIVE**

**W**e will hear about NASCOE "PAC" Political Action Committee on the convention. This has become a very important issue. They need new members to support this. Iowa now has 236 subscribed members to CAPWIZ, 980 from the Midwest.

Patsy Bence moved and Judy Dameron seconded to approve all the committee reports as presented. All Directors present approved the motion.

## **OLD BUSINESS**

Cindy Mensen mentioned she still does not have a bill yet from the attorney for the legal work in continuing our association. Has been a long road.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

IASCOE will pay for 3 delegates for the Midwest Area Rally. Cindy Mensen and Tammy Eibey are confirmed and Judy Dameron will be the alternate. Dee Ann Lehn will go as the Midwest Benefit chairperson. National convention delegates will be Cindy Mensen, Jeff Davis and Judy Dameron as the alternate. Tammy Eibey and Dee Ann Lehn usually always attend also.

Dee Ann Lehn, Judy Dameron and Joni Birkhofer attended the Illinois convention.

- General CRP signup will start June or July.
- New Farm Bill meeting will start this summer
- May eliminate direct farm payments
- Each office will soon have a "web cam"

Discussed our IASCOE convention pamphlet. BIG discussion on AFLAC speaking to us. Not sure if they should be hear or not. JM Marketing is very upset that we agreed to let them speak to us. They feel this is indirect competition. JM Marketing may keep their check they usually give back to the state. They say we are in violation of their contract with us. Suggestion that maybe NASCOE needs to put out our need for bids to others as FSA has been very supportive to JM Marketing! Cindy will do more checking on this. Chris Irvin and Mary Lageschulte are in charge of our entertainment. Chris said it was really hard to get volunteers, in fact they were begging for them. One conflict we may have is that the UNI BB game starts at 8:30. May try and get a TV in one corner of the room to accommodate the "fans". We will have a donation jar at the door of the hospitality room for the people that did not register. Thinking \$20.00 for those which would cover food and DJ. Jeff purchased drinks through the Hotel to hopefully last from 5:30 – 8:00. Jeff will Bartend keg and mixed drinks then will be a cash bar after that. Marriott has been excellent to work with. We had a total of 85 registered and assume maybe around 20 more on Friday. We will have 6 free rooms available for 1<sup>st</sup> timers and 2 of them will be used for the 2 State committee guests.

- Need to Email all committee reports to Sue
- Thank you to Glenda Von Arb and her husband for assembling our yearbooks as they have been printed.
- Iowa won the majority of Publicity Awards and plaques are here and will be given out
- Meetings are going very well with Mr. Whitaker and the State Committee.
- Had a conference call with the State Office, IASCOE, IASE & IACS presidents on the performance awards for 2009. We have 99 county office "superior" ratings in the State. Was mentioned that these performance awards sometimes "tear apart instead of building a team". Some concern as how this is done.
- Sue Beemer would like to give up her position as Secretary/Treasurer. She will continue one more year and would like to train someone this coming year to replace her.
- Please remember you can get a room and mileage when going to other conventions and represent lowa. Please consider.

Cindy Mensen thanked all for coming and all the committee people in making this another successful year. We have great things to look forward to in 2011. Need to pencil in March 25, & 26 for next year's convention 2011. Marriott has offered the same price for next year as this year.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Glenda Von Arb moved and Judy Dameron seconded to adjourn the meeting. Motion passed by all directors present. Cindy adjourned the meeting at 9:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted
Judy Lundgren
Secretary Pro-tem