MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE MINUTES Ramada Tropics Resort Des Moines IA April 4, 2014

The meeting of the IASCOE membership committee was called to order by Joni Birkhofer at 11:30 A.M. ---- out of 9 districts were represented as follows: with

District 1 –	Angie Christian
District 3 – Sheri Rodman	
District 5 – Tom Abbas	
District 7	Susan Lange
District 9	Deanna Rood

District 2 – Rosalie Carlson District 4 – Cathleen Borst District 6 – District 8 Marla Morlan

_ was appointed secretary for the membership committee.

After introductions the committee reviewed the membership reports.

The committee was provided a map showing membership for the state as well as lists of members and nonmembers by district. We have 93.1% membership for 2013-2014. District 1 has 100% membership. 79 of the 97 counties are 100%. Discussed was the importance of making newer employees aware of IASCOE membership . Each year our goal is to increase membership.

Membership is important when IASCOE/NASCOE goes to Washington. A discussion was held on how to increase membership and encourage non-members to join. We need to make employees aware of the benefits they receive because of IASCOE/NASCOE's efforts.

The committee reviewed the criteria of honorary life membership and was asked to submit any retired members that they thought might qualify.

Fifteen counties received awards for 100% consecutive membership. They are:

5 years:	Butler
10 years:	Mills & Shelby
15 years:	Madison
25 years:	Allamakee, Buena Vista, Delaware, Franklin, Mahaska, Muscatine, & Sioux
30 years:	Plymouth & Wright
35 years:	Page
55 years:	Dickinson

The committee discussed the Early Bird special. Each IASCOE members whose dues are received by their district membership committee person by June 15th would be eligible for a drawing to receive a \$50.00 refund. Five names will be drawn. _____ made a motion to recommend to the Directors continuance of the Early Bird special. The motion was seconded by _____ and unanimously approved. The 2013 early bird winners were:

The 2014-2015 membership drive will kick off on May 1st. New Transmittals will be provided to the committee members. We ask that transmittals be typed or printed legibly and have updated addresses and e-mail addresses. The committee was asked to follow up on transmittals that they have not received and check each for completeness. When the transmittals are received, the original and all checks should be sent to Treasurer, Judy Dameron and a copy of the transmittals should be sent to Joni Birkhofer, membership chair. We request that county offices who have new employees sign up for IASCOE membership let Joni know so their names can be added to the active members list. Membership cards will be given to IASCOE Directors at the September Directors meeting to be distributed to members in their districts.

_____ moved and _____ seconded to adjourn at _____ A.M.

At the General Session held on April 5, 2014_____ made a motion to accept the proposed resolution and ______ seconded the motion. It was unanimously approved by IASCOE members in attendance.

Respectfully submitted,

_____-Recording Secretary Joni Birkhofer , Membership Chair