Minutes of the Awards/Scholarship Committee Meeting

The IASCOE awards and scholarship committee met on Friday, April 5, 2014 at 11:30 am at the Ramada Tropics Inn in Des Moines, Iowa.

Introductions were made around the table. Present were:

District 1 – Larry Lago District 2 – Tammy Pruin District 3 – Connie Straw

District 4 – Donita Kenkel District 5 – Kathy Baker District 6 – Amy Castillo

District 7 – Monica Robinson District 8 – Kathy Henely District 9 – Lanie Benjamin

Scholarship Chair – Daniel Curry Awards Chair – Karen LaCour

The recommendation of going from four \$300 scholarships to three \$400 scholarships was approved by the committee and will be taken to the Board of Directors at the next board meeting for final approval. The scholarship selections were made based upon scoring of by three members of the committee. It was reported that there were 7 applications received. The three IASCOE winners chosen were Chantel Schmidt, Maria Derdzinski and Hannah Reifschneider.

Of the 7 applications received, all were forwarded on to the Midwest Area for further judging. The Midwest Area winner chosen was one of IASCOE's winners, Chantel Schmidt. Congratulations Chantel!

This year there were two Distinguished Service Award applications submitted. These were for Jeffrey Davis for Service to IASCOE/NASCOE and Barry Terhark for Service to FSA/Agriculture. Both of these applications have been forwarded on to the Midwest Area for ranking.

There were 16 sick leave awards submitted this year, with three of those being for 1,000 hours, seven for 1,500 hours, and six for 2,000 hours. Congratulations to all award recipients.

It was discussed by the committee, ideas for acquiring more award nominations for the Distinguished Service categories.

Committee meeting adjorned at 11:45 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Daniel Curry & Karen LaCour